Map of the Vietnam War

This page contains a map detailing the major battles of the Vietnam War with related reading on the Vietnam War.

Brief Overview of Vietnam War

Following World War 2 communist country’s lead by China recognized the Vietminh’s democratic republic of Vietnam as the official government of North Vietnam, whilst other nations recognized the French-backed, South Vietnamese Government, With emperor Bao Dai as its ruler. With the outbreak of the Korean war in the early 1950’s governments believed that Indochina was a direct expansionism of Communism by the Soviet Union. The Vietminh government begun forming a regular army assisted by Chinese military advises and by 1954 had become a well equipped and powerful force. Read Full Article Here

Map of Vietnam War

Major Vietnam War Map points of interest:

  • U.S Air Raids 1966-1973
  • Mining of Haiphong Harbour 1964
  • Gulf of Tonkin Incident 1964
  • U.S. Air Raids on Supply Routes 1965-1973
  • Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) 1954
  • Khe Sanh 1968
  • Quang Tri Province – 1972
  • Tet Offensive – 1968
  • Invasion of Laos 1971
  • Ho Chi Minh Trail
  • Dak To 1967
  • Pleiku 1965
  • Central Highlands 1965-1971, 1975
  • Invasion of Cambodia 1970
  • Phuoc Long Province 1974 – 1975
  • An Loc 1972
  • Xuan Loc 1975
  • Saigon 1975
  • Mekong Delta 1957

1 thought on “Map of the Vietnam War”

Leave a Comment